Claimant, 64, is a former career-employee with bad knees that required bilateral knee replacements. The Commission affirmed an award of benefits because he used steps a lot at work. Tarpeo v New World Pasta, 2015 MO WCLR Lexis 4 (Jan 15, 2015).
The parties agreed that claimant used steps daily to perform his job duties as a pasta pressman. The employer's expert, the only knee surgeon to testify in the case, found the prevailing cause in claimant's condition was degenerative arthritis and weight. The employer contends the employee over-estimated how many times he used steps and his knees were bad because he was old.
The claimant's father died 40 years earlier. Dr. Rende indicated claimant's father had arthritis. Dr. Rende stated his opinion that OA was age related did not change even absent that genetic history. The ALJ rejected the genetics defense because claimant denied his father had arthritis. The ALJ also noted that the employer over-relied on an opinion in the treating records that the condition was not work related and faults the employer for not deposing the treating physician. The physician does not indicate the full basis for his conclusions, and the conclusion disputing causation according to the ALJ could have been "predicated on a desire to have his medical bills paid by Claimant's personal health insurance company, so he could provide the needed treatment to Claimant, since it was not being accepted by the Workers' Compensation insurer."
Claimant testified he climbed steps several times an hour. The ALJ found 2880 stairs per week over 35 years was extensive. The ALJ based his causation opinion on the conclusions of a non-treating hand surgeon and awarded more than $150,000 including temporary and permanent disability.
The ALJ found claimant was PTD but not from the last accident alone, and that claimant failed to introduce sufficient medical evidence to show his English deficiency or other prior conditions flowed from permanent medical conditions.
ALJ Ottenad
Atty: Hoener, Hendershot, Frazier
Experts: Schlafly, Rende
Case law updates, news, commentary and analysis on Missouri worker's compensation law.
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, December 19, 2014
Commission affirms credit for missed appointment
The claimant alleges he knew nothing about 3 appointments he missed for IMEs scheduled over a 5 month period. The Commission affirmed an award with reductions for $300 in costs for the missed appointments. The employer ultimately secured medical opinion from a different expert. Moore v Delmar Gardens, 2014 MO WCLR Lexis 139 (December 9, 2014).
The Commission in a companion case more than doubled the award from the same judge for a claim involving the back injury from lifting a patient. Claimant had undergone a two level fusion about 3 years after the accident but the employer disputed causation. The ALJ had relied upon an opinion from a neurosurgeon that the accident had caused a lumbar strain. The Commission noted claimant's reports of "significant" back pain after the accident. A therapist appeared questioned the accuracy of the symptoms noting claimant had failed 21 validity indicators.
ALJ: Landolt
Atty: Robbins, Temme
Experts: Meyers, Kitchens
Treater: Poulus
The Commission in a companion case more than doubled the award from the same judge for a claim involving the back injury from lifting a patient. Claimant had undergone a two level fusion about 3 years after the accident but the employer disputed causation. The ALJ had relied upon an opinion from a neurosurgeon that the accident had caused a lumbar strain. The Commission noted claimant's reports of "significant" back pain after the accident. A therapist appeared questioned the accuracy of the symptoms noting claimant had failed 21 validity indicators.
ALJ: Landolt
Atty: Robbins, Temme
Experts: Meyers, Kitchens
Treater: Poulus
Friday, August 22, 2014
Hotel chain may be liable as joint employer when agency underpaid wages
The Supreme Court in a case involving Missouri’s minimum
wage law dealt with the issue whether the plaintiff who cleaned hotel rooms worked
as an employee for a staffing agency or for the hotel. Tolentino v Starwood, No. SC 93379 (Aug
19, 2014), 2014 Mo Lexis 201.
There may be more to this story. Starwood in January 2008 began cooperating with federal officials in an investigation of the agency for human trafficking and continued to work with the federal agency for another two years. The plaintiff worked at the hotel in April 2008 for only two weeks. The hotel knew it was dealing with an agency under investigation before plaintiff ever cleaned a room at their facility. Starwood has an astute control of its national brand image. It is not clear why Starwood did not abandon its relationship with the agency in January 2008 once it became aware of the investigation for practices if proven true would damage their image or why it was still working with the agency in April 2008 when the plaintiff first reported to clean rooms. This case could the product of paying the price of staying with a questionable vendor. There is another possibility too. Maybe the feds encouraged Starwood to continue the relationship while the feds sorted things out.
Starwood paid Giant Labor Services, a staffing agency, $5.00
to clean each room. The staffing agency
paid its workers $3.50 a room. Plaintiff cleaned 122 rooms over 2 weeks and received nothing. The agency’s
principals were convicted of labor racketeering when they deducted the balance of plaintiff's wages after paying taxes for an illegal 'visa' fee. The worker then went after Starwood for his
lost wages and restitution of $3150 and sued under the minimum wage law
alleging the hotel was liable for basing rate on the volume of rooms cleaned
and for illegal visa deductions.
The hotel argued that the plaintiff was an employee only for
the agency, the compensation scheme was reasonable, and the were not responsible
because the agency committed illegal deductions. The circuit court agreed that the
compensation was reasonable and the chain was not responsible for illegal
deductions. The Supreme Court reversed and found summary judgment improper because there remained material facts in dispute.
The court noted that summary judgment on the factual issue
of joint employment is improper and indicates the facts could support a finding
that the hotel was a joint employer.
There were material issues in dispute to the extent the hotel controlled
the plaintiff and that the hotel maintained control regarding the method of
compensation by paying per room rather than hourly. Plaintiff asserts that the hotel controlled
his performance standards because it fired him within two weeks.
The Supreme Court indicated that the minimum wage law
imposed an independent duty to pay minimum wage and they were not absolved by
paying minimum wage to an agency if the agency failed to pay the wages. The risk of non-payment falls on the business
and not on the worker, according to Justice Tietelman. Although the hotel was not 'responsible' for illegal deductions if they were a joint employer they were responsible that plaintiff received at least was a minimum wage which in the end produced the same result.
Several issues are important.
The hotel now has potential liability if it is found to be a
joint employer for the company it keeps if its staffing agency underpays
workers. This case is not just a contract claim about 2 weeks of wages but a class action. The only deep pocket left is the hotel
itself. The claim involves practices from 8 years ago. Like many class actions, this fight may be more about attorney's fees than anything else.
The minimum wage law requires workers to earn
at least minimum wage and that any entity that controls employment activity
could not delegate that responsibility.There may be more to this story. Starwood in January 2008 began cooperating with federal officials in an investigation of the agency for human trafficking and continued to work with the federal agency for another two years. The plaintiff worked at the hotel in April 2008 for only two weeks. The hotel knew it was dealing with an agency under investigation before plaintiff ever cleaned a room at their facility. Starwood has an astute control of its national brand image. It is not clear why Starwood did not abandon its relationship with the agency in January 2008 once it became aware of the investigation for practices if proven true would damage their image or why it was still working with the agency in April 2008 when the plaintiff first reported to clean rooms. This case could the product of paying the price of staying with a questionable vendor. There is another possibility too. Maybe the feds encouraged Starwood to continue the relationship while the feds sorted things out.
Monday, June 30, 2014
Court ditches "actual and measurable" defense for Fund PTD
The second injury fund appealed a finding of permanent and total disability and asserted that claimant failed to establish an actual and measurable pre-existing disability at the time of the primary injury because the prior conditions were still receiving treatment and had not reached any maximum medical improvement. The court of appeals affirmed the award. Lewis v Treasurer of the State of Mo, 2014 Mo App. Lexis 730 (June 30, 2014).
Any award of second injury fund liability requires different proof for permanent partial and permanent total according to the Court. In the context of a permanent total award, the court concluded claimant must only show that there is a prior condition that is an obstacle or hindrance to employment. There is no requirement that it reaches a statutory threshold or is measurable. Section 287.220.1 provides: "If all of Claimant's disability is from the work injury, then there is no Fund liability. However, if there is any percentage of Claimant's disability that is not attributable to the work injury, then the Fund becomes liable for the difference." The requirement to show actual and measurable disability enunciated in Messex v Sachs Electric Co., 989 S.W.2d 206 (Mo. App. 1999) applies only in the context of permanent partial awards. The claimant does not require proof a specific percentage of disability, but in this case such ratings supported the finding of a measurable disability. Claimant testified that the employer downgraded his position after 31 years demonstrated his ability to maintain the same production requirements. Claimant testified that he was unable to meet the job requirements or find alternate work.
The court describes several decisions which appear to support the Fund's defense but are distinguished as judicial "oversights" which do not appreciate a distinction between calculation of PPD and PTD.
The employer at the time of the hearing settled the primary case which involved an alleged ganglion cyst. The ALJ found the primary injury in the case resulted in 15% disability to the thumb. The treating physician gave him a full duty release.
Experts: Berkin, Poetz, Volarich, England
Panel: Sullivan, Mooney, Dowd
Any award of second injury fund liability requires different proof for permanent partial and permanent total according to the Court. In the context of a permanent total award, the court concluded claimant must only show that there is a prior condition that is an obstacle or hindrance to employment. There is no requirement that it reaches a statutory threshold or is measurable. Section 287.220.1 provides: "If all of Claimant's disability is from the work injury, then there is no Fund liability. However, if there is any percentage of Claimant's disability that is not attributable to the work injury, then the Fund becomes liable for the difference." The requirement to show actual and measurable disability enunciated in Messex v Sachs Electric Co., 989 S.W.2d 206 (Mo. App. 1999) applies only in the context of permanent partial awards. The claimant does not require proof a specific percentage of disability, but in this case such ratings supported the finding of a measurable disability. Claimant testified that the employer downgraded his position after 31 years demonstrated his ability to maintain the same production requirements. Claimant testified that he was unable to meet the job requirements or find alternate work.
The court describes several decisions which appear to support the Fund's defense but are distinguished as judicial "oversights" which do not appreciate a distinction between calculation of PPD and PTD.
The employer at the time of the hearing settled the primary case which involved an alleged ganglion cyst. The ALJ found the primary injury in the case resulted in 15% disability to the thumb. The treating physician gave him a full duty release.
Experts: Berkin, Poetz, Volarich, England
Panel: Sullivan, Mooney, Dowd
Friday, June 27, 2014
Fallen tree branch costs city 1/4 million in comp benefits
The commission affirmed an award of disability for orthopedic and psychiatric injuries from lifting a tree branch in 2011 and rejects the defense based on expert diagnosis of a back strain on a degenerative 64-year old spine.
The ALJ award close to 1/4 million dollars in disability and disputed medical expenses related to a fusion surgery. The claimant was picking up storm debris when he fell down. He was treated by a neurosurgeon and released with a finding a strain and disc protrusion. He sought treatment on his own and obtained a fusion for disputed instability. He saw two psychiatrists: one concluded he had disability from an unrelated major depressive disorder, another concluded he had new post-accident pain and mood disorders.
The employer disputed TTD on appeal. The Commission indicated that the employer could not dispute the amount of TTD, based on any alleged miscalculation, if it had already stipulated to the lump sum at the beginning of the hearing. The Commission further found the disputed bills to be reasonable, like the ALJ, but found the ALJ based his opinion in part on a medical report that was not part of the evidence. Wagner v City of Maryland Heights, 2014 Mo WCLR Lexis 84 (June 18, 2014)
ALJ Denigan
Atty: Sievers
Experts: Volarich, Stillings, Jarvis
Treaters: Kitchen, Robson
The ALJ award close to 1/4 million dollars in disability and disputed medical expenses related to a fusion surgery. The claimant was picking up storm debris when he fell down. He was treated by a neurosurgeon and released with a finding a strain and disc protrusion. He sought treatment on his own and obtained a fusion for disputed instability. He saw two psychiatrists: one concluded he had disability from an unrelated major depressive disorder, another concluded he had new post-accident pain and mood disorders.
The employer disputed TTD on appeal. The Commission indicated that the employer could not dispute the amount of TTD, based on any alleged miscalculation, if it had already stipulated to the lump sum at the beginning of the hearing. The Commission further found the disputed bills to be reasonable, like the ALJ, but found the ALJ based his opinion in part on a medical report that was not part of the evidence. Wagner v City of Maryland Heights, 2014 Mo WCLR Lexis 84 (June 18, 2014)
ALJ Denigan
Atty: Sievers
Experts: Volarich, Stillings, Jarvis
Treaters: Kitchen, Robson
Friday, June 20, 2014
Driver "totalled" by falling objects in a parked truck
Several unsecured totes inside a parked truck on private property fell from a trailer and struck claimant in the head, resulting in permanent total disability when surgery for a neck injury did not cure her. Cummins v Penske Logistics, 2014 MO WCLR Lexis 79 (June 13, 2014).
She asserted as a result of the accident she developed constant neck pain, post-concussive syndrome and PTSD, and required daily rest breaks. Dr. Park had performed a multi-level cervical procedure.
Dr. Koprivica was regarded as credible. Dr. Jackson indicated claimant could not return to driving a truck but was employable in the open labor market. The vocational expert indicated at 61-years old claimant was unemployable, that her prior extensive medical experience in nursing was not a transferrable skill, and no one would hire her if she needed to lie down.
ALJ Cain
Experts: Koprivica, Jackson; Drieling, Sprecke
Treater: Dr. Park
She asserted as a result of the accident she developed constant neck pain, post-concussive syndrome and PTSD, and required daily rest breaks. Dr. Park had performed a multi-level cervical procedure.
Dr. Koprivica was regarded as credible. Dr. Jackson indicated claimant could not return to driving a truck but was employable in the open labor market. The vocational expert indicated at 61-years old claimant was unemployable, that her prior extensive medical experience in nursing was not a transferrable skill, and no one would hire her if she needed to lie down.
ALJ Cain
Experts: Koprivica, Jackson; Drieling, Sprecke
Treater: Dr. Park
Thursday, June 5, 2014
It's a bird, it's a plane, it's superbill
There are, as they say, few certainties in life. One that can be added to the list may be that
any claim that begins with a helicopter ride is not a good day for the
injured worker or the risk manager.
Medicare regulations provide some interpretative guidance as to what might be reasonably related.
“After an injury or disability”
“Reasonably required”
Medicare prohibits transportation benefits unless the need for transportation relates
to Medicare-covered services. It’s one
thing to have an air ambulance take a worker to a trauma one center. It is quite another thing to ask a helicopter
to drop a worker off at his house. There
is an actual federal regulation on this point. Ground transportation may be a reasonable alternative if the distance to the appropriate medical facility is close.
Medicare prohibits transportation benefits beyond the nearest “appropriate”
facility. This is clearly defined in Chapter 10.3 of the Medicare Benefit
Policy Manual that “transport is covered
to the nearest appropriate facility
to obtain necessary diagnostic and or
therapeutic services.” Transportation to a more remote facility does not flow
from medical necessity.
Can fee resolution resolve a $30,000 helicopter bill?
Additional Sources:
Section 4531 (b) (2)
of the Balanced Budget Act (BBA) of 1997 added a new section 1834 (l) to the
Social Security Act which mandated the implementation of a national fee
schedule for ambulance services.
Fee schedule under Medicare for fixed and rotary wing ambulance
Section 287.140 provides a transportation benefit and requires employers to provide medical services
including “ambulance” that “reasonably [may] be required after an injury or disability.” Missouri employers may also face significant costs for ground or air ambulances for initially responding to an accident or as part of the ongoing cure or medical relief of injuries.
Medicare regulations provide some interpretative guidance as to what might be reasonably related.
The employer does not owe a transportation benefit unless it responds to an “injury
or disability”. The court of appeals
found an uninsured worker fainted at work, the ambulance was called over the
objection of the worker’s spouse, and the court found the employer did not owe
the ambulance bill because the worker failed to prove her fall and any need for an ambulance flowed from a work
injury. Crumpler v Walmart, 286 S.W.3d 270 (Mo. App. 2009).
Natural and probable consequence
Transportation in an ambulances and fixed or rotary wing aircraft
represent unique risks. From 2003 to
2008 a total of 125 people died in air ambulances. The FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012
describes many risks different from the ordinary public such as flying into tall
objects. It requires pilots to figure out what tall objects might be in their flight path to avoid this type of thing from happening. This is really a federal regulation.
MSA my helicopter ride
An often-neglected aspect of the work comp MSA is for
Medicare-covered expenses for future transportation costs. Missouri providers alone charged 19.9 million
in transportation costs. There are 6.5
million in helicopter rides for Missouri alone according to a Pro Publica
report. There may be an additional future aspect for transportation costs which are not Medicare-covered as Medicare pays only 80% of its fee schedule.
Disputes for bills about air ambulances are likely pre-empted
by 49 USC 41713.
The use of air ambulances provides unique capabilities of first responders to address life-threatening situations when an injured person is far from an appropriate medical facility. National fee schedules provide some basis to challenge skyhigh bills in the absence of a state fee schedule. The reasonableness of calling ambulance services is often a matter of timing whether there is a bona-fide emergency or not.
Additional Sources:
One air ambulance provider in St. Louis submitted to Medicare charges to
transported nearly 1300 patients, about half the number of the leading provider
in Kansas city, according to Pro Publica.
http://projects.propublica.org/treatment/uniqservices/A0436/states/MO
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)